It’s been a while

“Your plans are never certain until you’re stepping onto a plane”. I was a little taken back when my sister told me this a few weeks ago, but it pretty much hits the mark. It’s not that I always want things to be this way, sometimes it just happens to me. This past year my life changed dramatically; I thought my life was heading in one direction and within the space of a week everything changed. I was blindsided and I felt as though everything was ripped out from underneath me. My world was changing and I had no choice but to accept it.

This is life I guess – you can’t ever count on anything or anyone to always be there. Somewhere along the way I forgot that. So now I’ve had to totally change focus. I shouldn’t have had to though – this is where my focus should have always been. I should have never lost sight of the things that make me happy. It’s so simple and yet so easy to forget.

One thing I had neglected was my writing – I had completely stopped writing, in my journal, on my blog and even to people I cared about. Friends had told me I should start again, but I couldn’t; instead I was too focused on menial things. Now, all I want to do is write. It’s cathartic. I’ve been writing in my journal every second day and it really grounds me. This post however is the first time I’ve put my writing back out in the public space – and I want to make sure I keep at it. I want to document all the things I’m doing and reflect on them. If I don’t I feel like it‘ll all slip away from me.

I’ve also decided that 2013 is going to be an amazing year – I’m going to make sure of it. I will be turning 30 and I want to make it one to remember. I want to look toward the year with excitement, not dread. I’ve been in one place for too long, I need to get out into the world and travel around again, to do the one thing that makes me truly happy. I want to see some of the beautiful people that I haven’t seen in so long; people that bring so much happiness and joy into my life. And if I’m lucky I might pick up a few more keepers along the way.

Here goes…..

Leave a comment

Filed under Ramblings

Leave a comment